Currumbin – QLD 2017

LNP 5.7%

Incumbent MP
Jann Stuckey, since 2004.

Gold Coast. Currumbin is the southernmost electorate in the Gold Coast, bordering New South Wales. It covers the suburbs of Coolangatta, Tugun, Currumbin and Elanora, as well as the Currumbin and Tallebudgera valleys.

Currumbin lost the remainder of Palm Beach to Burleigh. This change increased the LNP margin from 5.2% to 5.7%.

The seat of Currumbin has existed since 1986. The seat has alternated between all three major parties, and has been held by the Liberal Party/LNP since 2004.

The seat was first won in 1986 by the National Party’s Leo Gately. In 1989, Gately was defeated by the Liberal Party’s Trevor Coomber. Coomber was defeated in 1992 by the ALP’s Merri Rose.

Rose was re-elected in 1995, 1998 and 2001, and joined the ministry after the 2001 election.

In 2004, Rose was defeated by the Liberal Party’s Jann Stuckey. Rose was later convicted of demanding benefit with threats due to her attempts to find work in the public service following her election loss, and she was sentence to 18 months in prison.

Jann Stuckey retained Currumbin at the 2006, 2009, 2012 and 2015 elections.


Currumbin is a relatively safe LNP seat.

2015 election result

Jann Stuckey Liberal National 13,38945.4-13.545.9
Ashley Wain Labor 8,80429.8+7.929.8
David Wyatt Greens 3,44211.7+2.211.1
Kristian ReesPalmer United Party2,0466.9+6.96.9
Deborah GravenallOne Nation1,0733.6+3.63.7
Ben DonovanFamily First7462.50.02.5

2015 two-party-preferred result

Jann Stuckey Liberal National 14,47555.2-15.055.7
Ashley Wain Labor 11,73444.8+15.044.3

Booth breakdown

Booths in Currumbin have been divided into three areas: central, east and west.

The LNP won a large majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 53.6% in the east to 58.9% in the west.

The Greens came third, with a vote ranging from 10.2% in the centre to 16.4% in the west.

Voter groupGRN prim %LNP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes10.457.69,68837.6

Election results in Currumbin at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.