Berowra – Australia 2019

LIB 16.4%

Incumbent MP
Julian Leeser, since 2016.

Northern Sydney. Berowra covers most of Hornsby Shire and northern parts of the Hills. Major suburbs include Berowra, Hornsby, Cherrybrook, Pennant Hills, and Dural. It also stretches as far north as Dangar Island and Wisemans Ferry.

Berowra was created at the 1969 election, and has always been safely retained by the Liberal Party.

The seat was first won in 1969 by Tom Hughes. Hughes had previously held the seat of Parkes since 1963, but its abolition in 1969 saw him move to Berowra. He was Attorney-General in John Gorton’s government, but was dropped from the cabinet when William McMahon became Prime Minister, and he retired at the 1972 election.

In 1972, the seat was won by Harry Edwards, a professor of economics at Macquarie University. Edwards held the seat for the next 21 years, retiring in 1993. He was replaced by Philip Ruddock, who had held other seats since 1973. Ruddock held the seat from 1993 until 2016, serving as a senior minister for the entirety of the Howard government. Ruddock has since gone on to be elected as Mayor of Hornsby.

Berowra was won in 2016 by Liberal candidate Julian Leeser.


Berowra is a safe Liberal seat.

2016 result

Julian Leeser Liberal 53,67857.1-4.4
Josh Andrews Labor 18,69319.9+0.9
Emma Heyde Greens 10,81511.5+1.5
Leighton ThewChristian Democratic Party5,2135.5+3.1
Mick GallagherIndependent2,8593.0-0.6
Brendan Michael ClarkeScience Party1,9332.1+2.1
Roger WoodwardIndependent8260.9+0.9

2016 two-party-preferred result

Julian Leeser Liberal 62,47066.4-2.6
Josh Andrews Labor 31,54733.6+2.6

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into four areas. Booths in the sparsely-populated north and west of the seat have been grouped as “north-west”. Booths at the southern end of the seat have been grouped as “south”. Those booths in the east of the seat have been split into “north-east” and “east”.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 56.4% in the north-east to 78.8% in the north-west.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 7.8% in the north-west to 15.8% in the north-east.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.467.412,94613.8

Election results in Berowra at the 2016 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


  1. Brooklyn has gone Red !!. Actually it appears as if that silly booth on Dangar Island is no longer done. That was like a red 78, a lot of Greenies live on that island

  2. Yes Dangar Island booth was abolished last election, as was incidentally the Scotland Island booth in Mackellar. AEC abolished lots of booths across the country.

  3. It looks like UAP have moved some candidates around and Ignatius Tsiriplis is now their candidate for Werriwa.

  4. Big fan of Julian Leeser. Very active in the community and probably one of the best policy thinkers going around in parliament.

    Real talent for the Liberal Party and a future front bencher

  5. Agreed @Hawkeye, he has worked his safe seat hard the past 3 years.

    He should maintain his safe seat status and go on the opposition frontbench after the election.

  6. I’d say Julian Leeser will retain his seat. I think he’s fortunate to have a safe seat because of Phillip Ruddock good work which was his predecessor.

  7. Lots of signs for Leeser here, including some nearly impossible to read on walkways above the Pacific Motorway. All the more strange considering how safe this seat is.

    The swing against the Libs here should be negligible, perhaps no more then 2% on the TPP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here