Liverpool council election, 2021

The City of Liverpool covers parts of south-western Sydney, including Liverpool, Chipping Norton, Warwick Farm, Moorebank, Holsworthy, Casula, Prestons, Lurnea, Green Valley, Hoxton Park, Austral and Badgerys Creek.

Liverpool has a population of approximately 228,000 people as of 2019.

Liverpool is divided up into two wards, with each ward electing five councillors. The council also includes a directly-elected mayor.

North ward covers parts of Liverpool council north of Newbridge Road and Hoxton Park Road, including Chipping Norton, Warwick Farm, Ashcroft, Cartwright, Miller, Busby, Hinchinbrook, Green Valley, Cecil Hills and parts of Liverpool, as well as the rural western edge of the council, including Badgerys Creek, Austral, Rossmore and Bringelly.

South ward covers the remainder of the council, including those suburbs at the eastern edge. The suburbs include Holsworth, Wattle Grove, Moorebank, Casula, Lurnea, Prestons, Hoxton Park, Horningsea Park and West Hoxton.

The South ward retracted, with the North ward taking in Rossmore and Austral.

Incumbent mayor
Wendy Waller (Labor)

Incumbent councillors

North South
Gus Balloot (Liberal) Tina Ayyad (Liberal)
Mazhar Hadid (Liberal) Tony Hadchiti (Liberal)
Nathan Hagarty (Labor) Charishma Kaliyanda (Labor)
Peter Harle (Independent) Karress Rhodes (Independent)
Ali Karnib (Labor) Geoff Shelton (Labor)

Liverpool has been historically dominated by Labor. Labor dominated the council up until 2004, but the Liberal Party have done well on the council since the restoration of democratic control in 2008.

The first directly-elected mayor of Liverpool was Mark Latham, who won the mayoralty in 1991. He resigned as mayor in 1994 after winning the Werriwa federal by-election.

Latham was succeeded by George Paciullo. Paciullo had a previous career on Liverpool council from 1959 until 1971, including one year as mayor in the late 1960s. He had then served as a state MP from 1971 until 1988, and as a minister in the Wran and Unsworth governments. He returned to the local council after leaving state politics.

Paciullo was elected mayor in 1995 and 1999. Liverpool City Council was sacked by the state government two weeks before the 2004 council election, in part due to issues around the controversial Oasis development. This ended Paciullo’s ten years as mayor.

The council was kept in administration for four years, and in 2008 a new council was elected. This council was led by Labor mayor Wendy Waller. The ten members of the council included four Labor members (not including the mayor), three Liberals, two members of the Liverpool Community Independents Team, along with conservative independent Gary Lucas.

While Labor held the mayoralty, they did not have a working majority on the council, and more often than not the three independents sided with the three Liberals to outvote for the five Labor councillors.

Labor had a poor election in Liverpool in 2012, as they did across Western Sydney. Labor’s vote dropped by 5.9%. The vote for the Liverpool Community Independents Team also dropped by 9.3%, and 7% less chose to vote for independents. Most of this vote flowed to the Liberal Party, who gained a 16.25% swing.

The Liberal Party’s Ned Mannoun won the mayoralty comfortably ahead of the incumbent Waller in 2012. The Liberal Party won five other council seats out of ten, with Labor winning four and the LCIT winning one seat. This gave the Liberal Party an overall majority on the council.

Labor won back the mayoralty in 2016 but fell one seat short of a majority. They only retained their four council seats, needing five plus the mayor for a majority. The mayoralty was only won by a margin of 3.6%.

The Liverpool Community Independents Team also won back a second council seat off the Liberal Party.

The ALP has held the mayoralty but has not had control over the council, with the LCIT more often than not siding with the Liberal Party for a 6-5 majority over Labor.

Candidate summary
Sitting Labor mayor Wendy Waller is not running for re-election.

Labor is running Nathan Hagarty for mayor.

The leading Labor candidates for the North ward are:

  1. Cr Nathan Hagarty
  2. Cr Ali Karnib
  3. Lorraine Usher

The leading Labor candidates for the South ward are:

  1. Cr Charishma Kaliyanda
  2. Betty Green
  3. Daniel Singleton

Liverpool Community Independents Team councillor Peter Harle is running for re-election in the North ward and also for mayor.

Independent Michael Andjelkovic is also running for mayor.

Labor holds the Liverpool mayoralty but does not hold a majority on the council. To win a majority they would need to win three quotas in one ward, likely in the north, which would be a stretch but is possible.

While Labor are likely favourites to hold on to the mayoralty it is by no means safe.

2016 council election result

PartyVotes%SwingSeats won
Labor 37,45240.65+6.74
Liberal 32,58535.36-6.24
Liverpool Community Independent Team13,20714.33+5.52
Greens 5,2175.66+0.2
Other independents3,4903.79-5.8
Animal Justice1930.21+0.2

2016 mayoral election result

Wendy Waller Labor 36,00038.09+8.3
Tony Hadchiti Liberal 30,85032.64-10.7
Peter HarleIndependent9,3369.88+3.7
Phil SimIndependent8,3858.87+8.9
Seema MishraIndependent6,0476.40+6.4
Signe Westerberg The Greens 3,9044.13+0.0

2016 mayoral election two-candidate-preferred result

Wendy Waller Labor 41,21953.58
Tony Hadchiti Liberal 35,71746.42

Vote breakdown by ward
The following tables show the vote in each ward before and after the recent redistribution, for council and for mayor.

Labor topped the council poll in the north ward, winning 45% of the primary vote, but only won 37% in the south, lower than 39% for the Liberal Party. The LCIT vote was substantially higher in the north ward. The redistribution made the north ward slightly better for the Liberal Party and made the south ward better for Labor, which generally narrows the political gap between the two wards. This change is very minor.

You can see a similar trend in the primary vote for the mayoral election, with Waller winning in the north and Hadchiti winning in the south.

Council results by 2016 ward


Mayoral results by 2016 ward

WardWaller (ALP) %Hadchiti (LIB) %

Council results by 2021 ward


Mayoral results by 2021 ward

WardWaller (ALP) %Hadchiti (LIB) %

Election results at the 2016 City of Liverpool election
Toggle between primary votes for Labor, the Liberal Party and the Liverpool Community Independent Team.

Election results at the 2016 City of Liverpool mayoral election
Toggle between primary votes for Wendy Waller, Tony Hadchiti, Peter Harle and Phil Sim.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here