Brisbane City Council election, 2016


Welcome to the Tally Room’s guide to the 2016 Brisbane City Council election. This guide includes comprehensive coverage of each ward’s history, geography, political situation and results of the 2012 election, as well as maps and tables showing those results.

Table of contents:

  1. Lord mayoral profile
  2. Ward profiles
  3. Key wards
  4. Redistribution
  5. Contact

Lord mayoral profile

Click here to read the profile of the Lord Mayor race, including the history of the position, the 2012 results, the candidates and the 2012 results by new ward.

Ward profiles

Ward profiles have been produced for all 26 Brisbane City Council wards. You can use the following navigation to click through to each seat’s profile.

Key wards

The Liberal National Party currently holds eighteen wards on Brisbane City Council, Labor holds seven and an ex-LNP independent holds one.

There are six key wards which would deprive the LNP of their majority in two clusters in the north-west and south-east.

Read more


The City of Brisbane recently underwent a redistribution of boundaries for its twenty-six wards, as happens after every second election.

Read more


If you have a correction or an update for a single ward page, feel free to post a comment. You can also send an email by using this form.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Subject (required)

    Your Message (required)