Riverstone – NSW 2019

LIB 12.2%

Incumbent MP
Kevin Conolly, since 2011.

North-western Sydney. Riverstone includes northern parts of the City of Blacktown, including Glenwood, Quakers Hill, Riverstone and Stanhope Gardens.

Riverstone was first created for the 1981 election. It has always been won by the ALP.

The seat was first won in 1981 by Tony Johnson, who had served as Member for Mount Druitt since 1973. Johnson retired in 1983, triggering a by-election.

The 1983 by-election was won by Richard Amery. He held the seat until 1991. In 1991, the redistribution saw the restoration of the seat of Mount Druitt, covering areas previously covered by Riverstone. Amery moved to Mount Druitt, which he has held ever since. He served as a minister in the state Labor government from 1995 to 2003.

Riverstone was won in 1991 by John Aquilina, who had served as Member for Blacktown since 1981. He served as a minister in Labor governments from 1986 to 1988 and again from 1995 to 2003. In 2003 he left the ministry and was elected Speaker. He served as Speaker until the 2007 election, and then sat on the backbench until his retirement in 2011.

At the 2011 election, Riverstone was won by Liberal candidate Kevin Conolly with a 30% swing. Conolly was re-elected in 2015.


  • Annemarie Christie (Labor)
  • Chris Winslow (Greens)
  • Assessment
    Riverstone is a reasonably safe Liberal seat, but the seat was held by Labor until 2011 so could well go back if there is a surge in Labor support.

    2015 result

    Kevin Conolly Liberal 25,91855.2-3.2
    Ian Morrison Labor 14,81931.6+7.9
    Rob Vail Greens 2,5415.4FALSE
    Allan GreenChristian Democrats2,5255.4+0.7
    Karen CacciottiNo Land Tax1,1522.5+2.5

    2015 two-party-preferred result

    Kevin Conolly Liberal 27,06562.2-7.8
    Ian Morrison Labor 16,41837.8+7.8

    Booth breakdown

    Booths in Riverstone have been split into three parts: east, north and south.

    The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 60.1% in the south to 65% in the north.

    Voter groupLIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Other votes61.210,55322.5

    Two-party-preferred votes in Riverstone at the 2015 NSW state election

    Become a Patron!


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here