Malvern – Victoria 2010

LIB 11.3%

Incumbent MP
Michael O’Brien, since 2006.

Inner southeastern Melbourne. Malvern covers central and eastern parts of Stonnington local government area, specifically the suburbs of Armadale, Kooyong, Malvern and Malvern East and parts of the suburbs of Chadstone, Glen Iris and Toorak.

Malvern was first created for the 1933 election, and in that time it has always been won by the Liberal Party and its predecessor.

The seat was first won in 1945 by Trevor Oldham for the Liberal Party. Oldham had previously served as Member for Boroondara for the United Australia Party from a by-election in 1933 until the seat was abolished at the 1945 election. He served as Treasurer and Deputy Premier in a number of Liberal Party state governments, and was elected Liberal leader after the 1952 election. He died shortly after in an air crash on his way to the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II.

The seat was won at the 1953 by-election by John Bloomfield. He served as a minister in the Bolte Liberal government from 1955 to 1967, and retired at the 1970 election.

The seat was won in 1970 by Lindsay Thompson, who had served as a Member of the Legislative Council since 1955, first for Higinbotham province, and then Monash province. He had served as a minister in the Liberal government since 1958. Thompson became Premier of Victoria in June 1981, and served until his defeat at the March 1982 election.

Thompson resigned from Parliament following his election defeat, and the 1982 by-election was won by Geoff Leigh. He moved to the new seat of Mordialloc in 1992, and held it until his defeat in 2002.

Leigh had lost preselection for Malvern in 1992 to Robert Doyle. He served as a Parliamentary Secretary in the second term of the Kennett government and was promoted to the frontbench after Kennett’s defeat in 1999. In October 2002 he was elected Liberal leader, but lost badly at the state election the following month. He was replaced as Liberal leader in 2006 and retired from the seat of Malvern at the 2006 election. He went on to win election as Lord Mayor of Melbourne in 2008.

Malvern was won in 2006 by Michael O’Brien, a former advisor to Peter Costello. He serves in a number of shadow ministerial roles in the Liberal-National Opposition.


Political situation
Malvern is one of the safest Liberal seats in Melbourne. O’Brien should have no trouble winning re-election.

2006 result

Michael O’BrienLIB17,92756.88+1.74
Paul VoutALP8,55527.15-2.68
Tania GilesGRN3,95912.56-0.86
Deborah HolmesPP5901.87+1.87
Ann GrauerFF4841.54+1.54

2006 two-candidate-preferred result

Michael O’BrienLIB19,31361.32+1.14
Paul VoutALP12,18038.68-1.14

Booth breakdown
Booths in Malvern have been divided into three areas: east, central and west. The Liberal Party polls most strongly in the western end of the seat around Armadale and Kooyong, with over two thirds of the vote. They poll 60.8% in the centre of the seat, but a smaller 51.7% majority in the eastern end of the seat.


Polling booths in Malvern at the 2006 state election. East in green, Central in blue, West in yellow.

Voter groupGRN %LIB 2CP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes13.8464.117,19522.85

Two-party-preferred votes in Malvern at the 2006 state election.

Greens primary votes in Malvern at the 2006 state election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.