Oodgeroo – QLD 2017

LNP 5.7%

Incumbent MP
Mark Robinson, member for Cleveland since 2009.

South-East Queensland. Oodgeroo covers northern parts of Redland council to the east of the City of Brisbane. It covers the suburbs of Wellington Point, Ormiston and Cleveland, as well as North Stradbroke Island.

Oodgeroo is a new name for the seat of Cleveland. The seat’s boundaries contracted, losing areas on its western boundary to Capalaba and Redlands, including parts of Thornlands and the remainder of Birkdale. These changes increased the LNP margin from 5.5% to 5.7%.


The seat of Cleveland was first created in 1992. It was held by the ALP continuously from 1992 to 2009, when it was won by the LNP.

Darryl Briskey was elected to Cleveland in 1992. He had first been elected as Member for Redlands in 1989. He held Cleveland from 1992 to 2006.

Phil Weightman succeeded Briskey as Member for Cleveland in 2006. He held the seat for one term, and in 2009 was defeated by the LNP’s Mark Robinson.

Robinson was re-elected in 2012 and 2015.


Oodgeroo is a relatively safe LNP seat.

2015 election result

Mark Robinson Liberal National 16,43452.1-9.852.8
Tracey Huges Labor 11,28835.8+9.435.4
Amanda White Greens 3,79512.0+4.511.8

2015 two-party-preferred result

Mark Robinson Liberal National 16,92955.5-12.755.7
Tracey Huges Labor 13,59944.5+12.744.3

Booth breakdown

Booths in Oodgeroo have been divided into three areas. Polling places on Stradbroke Island have been grouped together, while those on the mainland were split into Cleveland in the south and Wellington Point in the north.

The LNP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 50.8% on Stradbroke Island to 55.9% in Cleveland.

The Greens came third, with a vote ranging from 12.9% in Cleveland to 14.5% on Stradbroke Island.

Voter groupGRN prim %LNP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Wellington Point14.055.73,70915.6
Stradbroke Island14.550.81,0494.4
Other votes10.356.812,09150.9

Election results in Oodgeroo at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.