Gladstone – QLD 2017

ALP 25.3%

Incumbent MP
Glenn Butcher, since 2015.

Central Queensland. Gladstone covers the Gladstone urban area and surrounding rural areas in the Gladstone local government area.

Gladstone lost its southern hinterland to Callide. This area covers Calliope, Taragoola, Diglum, Boynedale and Wooderson.


The seat of Gladstone has existed since the 1992 election. The seat was held by the ALP for one term but was then held by an independent from 1995 until 2015.

Neil Bennett won Gladstone for the ALP in 1992. Bennett defeated independent candidate Liz Cunningham, who ran in opposition to the downgrading of Gladstone Hospital.

Cunningham won on a second attempt in 1995. She supported a minority Coalition government from 1996 to 1998. She lost the balance of power when a second hung parliament was elected in 1998.

Cunningham was re-elected in 2001, 2004, 2006, 2009 and 2012. Cunningham retired in 2015, and Labor’s Glenn Butcher won the seat.


Gladstone is a safe Labor seat.

2015 election result

Glenn Butcher Labor 16,51252.4+23.252.9
Craig ButlerIndependent8,98128.5-20.527.8
Michael Duggan Liberal National 4,78415.2+4.315.3
Craig Tomsett Greens 1,2213.9+1.84.0

2015 two-party-preferred result

Glenn Butcher Labor 17,15261.9
Craig ButlerIndependent10,56138.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Gladstone have been divided into four areas. Polling places in the Gladstone urban area were split into Gladstone Central and Gladstone South, with the rural hinterland split into east and west.

Labor topped the vote, with a primary vote ranging from 37% in the west to 56.6% in southern Gladstone.

The vote for independent candidate Craig Butler ranged from 26% in Gladstone South to 45% in the rural west. Butler outpolled Labor in the rural west.

The LNP vote ranged from around 13% in the Gladstone urban area to 17.5% in the rural east.

Voter groupALP prim %IND prim %LNP prim %Total votes% of votes
Gladstone South56.626.213.37,45326.7
Gladstone Central55.127.113.65,21518.7
Other votes51.927.416.89,66034.6

Election results in Gladstone at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-candidate-preferred (Labor vs independent) votes, Labor primary votes, independent primary votes and Liberal National primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.