Lingiari – Australia 2019

ALP 8.2%

Incumbent MP
Warren Snowdon, since 2001. Previously Member for Northern Territory 1987-1996, 1998-2001.

Lingiari covers the vast majority of the Northern Territory, with the exception of Darwin and Palmerston. The seat covers Katherine and Alice Springs, as well as many indigenous communities throughout the Territory.

Lingiari expanded to take in the eastern fringe of Darwin, which reduced the Labor margin from 8.4% to 8.2%.

The Northern Territory first elected a Member of the House of Representatives in 1922, but this person was only given full voting rights in 1968.

The seat was held by the Country Party and then the Country Liberal Party from then until 1983, before Labor and then the CLP each held the seat for one term, before Warren Snowdon won the seat for the ALP in 1987. Snowdon lost the seat for one term in 1996 before being returned for one more term in 1998.

The 2000 redistribution saw the Northern Territory gain a second seat for the first time, and the seats of Solomon, covering Darwin and Palmerston, and Lingiari, covering the rest, were created.

Snowdon has been elected in Lingiari six times.


  • Jacinta Price (Country Liberal)

Lingiari is a reasonably safe Labor seat.

2016 result

Warren Snowdon Labor 17,05639.8+0.039.8
Tina MacfarlaneCountry Liberal13,60531.7-6.531.9
Rob Hoad Greens 3,3057.7-0.17.7
Chris RightonShooters, Fishers and Farmers3,0617.1+7.17.0
Yingiya Mark GuyulaIndependent1,8544.3+4.34.1
Braedon EarleyIndependent1,8084.2+4.24.0
Regina MccarthyRise Up Australia1,4983.5+1.53.4
Alfred GouldIndependent4271.0-0.60.9
Peter FlynnCitizens Electoral Council2610.6-3.00.6

2016 two-party-preferred result

Warren Snowdon Labor 25,04858.4+7.558.1
Tina Macfarlane Country Liberal 17,82741.6-7.541.7

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into five areas. There are clusters of booths in the Alice Springs area, in Katherine and in areas surrounding Darwin, although Darwin itself is in the neighbouring seat of Solomon. The fourth area, “Outback” covers a number of remote booths. The “islands” group covers Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands – both far away from the Northern Territory included in Lingiari for electoral purposes. There are also a large number of votes cast through remote polling stations – more than in any of the other booth groupings. All of these remote booths have been grouped together.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in most areas, ranging from 52.5% in Katherine to 70.1% in the remote boths. The Country Liberal Party polled 51.5% in the area surrounding Darwin.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Darwin Surrounds48.56,75314.9
Alice Springs55.94,97211.0
Other votes49.32,8416.3

Two-party-preferred votes in Lingiari at the 2016 federal election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.