Mount Ommaney – QLD 2017

ALP 1.0%

Incumbent MP
Tarnya Smith (LNP), since 2012.

Brisbane. Mount Ommaney covers the southwestern Brisbane suburbs of Corinda, Darra, Oxley, Jindalee, Sinnamon Park, Mount Ommaney, Jamboree Heights, Middle Park, Westlake and Riverhills.

Mount Ommaney retained all of its existing territory, gaining a small area near Sherwood from Indooroopilly and an area on its southern border from Inala. These changes reversed the seat’s margin from 0.2% for the LNP to 1% for the ALP.

The seat of Mount Ommaney has existed since the 1992 election, and it has generally gone with the party of government.

The ALP’s Peter Pyke won the seat in 1992. He lost in 1995 to the Liberal Party’s Bob Harper.

Harper lost in 1998 to Labor candidate Julie Attwood. She was re-elected in 2001, 2004, 2006 and 2009.

Attwood retired in 2012, and her seat was won by LNP candidate Tarnya Smith with a 21.3% swing.

Smith was re-elected in 2015 by a very slim margin.


Mount Ommaney is a very marginal seat – Labor will be hoping to gain the seat, but the LNP have the advantage of incumbency, despite losing their slim majority.

2015 election result

Tarnya Smith Liberal National 13,26446.2-11.145.0
Jessica Pugh Labor 11,15238.9+13.240.3
Jenny Mulkearns Greens 3,16111.0+1.211.1
Kathleen HewlettPalmer United Party1,1023.8+3.83.5

2015 two-party-preferred result

Tarnya Smith Liberal National 13,90250.2-16.349.0
Jessica Pugh Labor 13,77649.8+16.351.0

Booth breakdown

Booths in Mount Ommaney have been divided into three areas: Corinda in the north-east, Oxley in the south-east and Jindalee in the west.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two out of three areas, winning almost 60% in Oxley and 54% in Corinda. The LNP polled a 52% majority in Jindalee, which makes up a majority of the ordinary votes.

The Greens vote ranged from 10.6% in Jindalee to 14.1% in Corinda.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes10.447.610,00632.1

Election results in Mount Ommaney at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.