Kogarah – NSW 2019

ALP 6.9%

Incumbent MP
Chris Minns, since 2015.

Southern Sydney. Kogarah includes parts of Kogarah, Rockdale and Hurstville local government areas, including the suburbs of Allawah, Carrs Park, Carlton, Kogarah, Bexley, Hurstville, Kingsgrove and Beverly Hills.

The electoral district of Kogarah has existed continuously since 1930. The seat was marginal in the first half of the twentieth century but has been held by the ALP since 1953.

The seat was first won by the ALP’s Mark Gosling in 1930. He had held one of the seats in the St George district from 1920 to 1927 and then Oatley from 1927 to 1930. He lost Kogarah after one term in 1932.

The United Australia Party’s James Ross held the seat from 1932 to 1941, when he lost to the Victoria’s Cross recipient William Currey, running for the ALP. Currey held the seat until his death in 1948.

The 1948 by-election was won by Liberal candidate Douglas Cross. Cross lost Kogarah in 1953, but he won the neighbouring seat of Georges River in 1956, holding it until his death in 1970.

Bill Crabtree held Kogarah for the ALP from 1953 to 1983. He served as a minister in the Wran Labor government from 1976 to 1981.

Kogarah was won in 1983 by Brian Langton. He became a minister when the ALP won power in 1995. In 1998, he was forced to resign as a minister after a scandal involving misuse of air travel expenses. He retired from Kogarah in 1999.

Kogarah was won in 1999 by Cherie Burton. She served as a minister from 2005 to 2007. Following the 2007 election she returned to the backbench.


Kogarah is a reasonably safe Labor seat.

2015 result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
Chris Minns Labor 21,084 45.4 -2.0
Nick Aroney Liberal 15,866 34.2 -3.9
Annie Tang Unity 3,647 7.9 +7.9
Brent Heber Greens 3,015 6.5 -2.3
Sonny Susilo Christian Democrats 1,638 3.5 -2.2
David Lin No Land Tax 1,173 2.5 +2.5
Informal 2,225 4.6

2015 two-party-preferred result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
Chris Minns Labor 23,058 56.9 +1.5
Nick Aroney Liberal 17,492 43.1 -1.5

Booth breakdown

Booths in Kogarah have been split into three parts: north-east, north-west and south.

Labor won a majority in all three areas, ranging from 53.6% in the north-west to 60.8% in the north-east.

Voter group ALP 2PP % Total votes % of votes
North-East 60.8 13,665 29.4
North-West 53.6 10,496 22.6
South 54.0 7,723 16.6
Other votes 55.6 8,672 18.7
Pre-poll 58.9 5,867 12.6

Two-party-preferred votes in Kogarah at the 2015 NSW state election

Become a Patron!


  1. The naming of seats in the seats in the St George area has all become a bit odd over the years. Rockdale should be named Kogarah and Kogarah be named Hurstville.

  2. The suburb of Kogarah is split roughly in half by the electoral boundaries, so really it’s a poor choice of name for either district. But if one has to carry the name this district is probably the better option as it contains the train station and the medical precinct.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here