Gorton – Australia 2019

ALP 18.5%

Incumbent MP
Brendan O’Connor, since 2004. Previously Member for Burke 2001-2004.

Western Melbourne. Gorton covers all of the City of Melton and western parts of the City of Brimbank. As well as Melton, Gorton covers the suburbs of Derrimut, Deer Park, Cairnlea, Albanvale, Kings Park, Burnside, Ravenhall, Caroline Springs, Delahey, Hillside and Calder Park.

Gorton retracted on its eastern edge, losing Delahey, Cairnlea and Derrimut to Fraser. These changes reduced the Labor margin from 19.5% to 18.5%.

Gorton is the newest seat in Victoria, having been created at the 2004 election. The seat replaced the abolished seat of Burke, which sat in the same part of Melbourne. It is named after former Prime Minister John Gorton, who died in 2002. In its short history Gorton has been a very safe Labor seat, as was its predecessor seat of Burke.

Burke was created for the 1969 election. It was largely a safe seat, although it was considered marginal for much of the 1980s. It was held by Keith Johnson until 1980, followed by Andrew Theophanous from 1980 to 1984, when he moved to the new seat of Calwell, which he held until 2001. The seat was then held by Neil O’Keefe from 1984 to 2001. O’Keefe served as a Parliamentary Secretary in the second term of the Keating government.

In 2001, Burke was won by Brendan O’Connor, an official with the Australian Services Union, and O’Connor won the renamed Gorton in 2004. O’Connor has held Gorton ever since.


Gorton is a very safe Labor seat.

2016 result

Brendan O’Connor Labor 61,11062.3+11.661.2
Daryl Lang Liberal 27,30527.8+2.428.8
Rod Swift Greens 9,6909.9+3.510.0

2016 two-party-preferred result

Brendan O’Connor Labor 68,13569.5+3.368.5
Daryl Lang Liberal 29,97030.5-3.331.5

Booth breakdown

Polling places in Gorton have been divided into three parts: north-east, south-east and west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 67.7% in the west to 73.4% in the south-east.

The Greens came third, with a primary vote ranging from 8.9% in the north-east to 11.7% in the west.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes10.466.911,88414.2

Election results in Gorton at the 2016 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


  1. I think this was the only 3 candidate contest in 2016. Palmer says he’s going to run in all 151 again so there goes that.

    Not much else to comment on here.

  2. actually there is the independent jarrod bingham who helped almost turn the victorian election seat of melton from a 20% labour to a 5% marginal contesting the federal seat of gorton with some strong policies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here