West Swan – WA 2013

ALP 4.1%

Incumbent MP
Rita Saffioti, since 2008.


Map of West Swan’s 2008 and 2013 boundaries. 2008 boundaries appear as red line, 2013 boundaries appear as white area. Click to enlarge.

North-eastern Perth. West Swan covers southwestern parts of Swan local government area, Caversham, West Swan, Henley Brook, Ellenbrook and parts of Ballajura and Beechboro, on the western bank of the Swan River.

West Swan lost its westernmost parts around Landsdale and Ballajura to Girrawheen and Mirrabooka. The ALP’s margin was reduced from 4.4% to 4.1%

West Swan is a new seat created at the 2008 redistribution. The seat largely replaced the former seat of Ballajura, along with parts of other seats.

Ballajura had been held by the Liberal Party’s Rhonda Parker for one term from 1996 to 2001. John D’Orazio won the seat for the ALP in 2001, and was re-elected in 2005. D’Orazio left the ALP in 2006, and ran unsuccessfully for the neighbouring seat of Morley in 2008.

In 2008, West Swan was won by Rita Saffioti, then chief of staff to Premier Alan Carpenter. Her margin was cut from 10.6% to 4.4%.


West Swan is a marginal Labor seat, but not one of the most marginal. Saffioti should benefit from a new personal vote, but a 4.1% margin is very vulnerable to the Liberal Party if results reflect current polling.

2008 result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
Rita Saffioti ALP 8,612 46.2 -7.1
Rod Henderson LIB 7,017 37.6 +5.9
Michael Boswell GRN 1,676 9.0 +3.9
Barbara Butler CDP 872 4.7 +0.9
Chris Fayle IND 483 2.6 +2.6

2008 two-candidate-preferred result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing
Rita Saffioti ALP 10,156 54.4 -6.2
Rod Henderson LIB 8,497 45.6 +6.2


Polling booths in West Swan at the 2008 WA state election. North in green, East in blue, West in orange.

Booth breakdown
Booths have been divided into three parts. Three booths are isolated from the rest of the seat in the northeastern corner of the seat, and these have been grouped as North. The rest of the booths have been grouped as West and East.

The ALP polled around 49-50% of the vote in the southern parts of the seat, compared to 33-35% for the Liberal Party. The Liberal Party topped the poll in the north, with 44% compared to 40.8% for Labor.

Voter group ALP % LIB % GRN % Total votes % of ordinary votes
West 49.05 35.25 8.37 6,967 44.57
North 40.83 44.08 9.03 6,475 41.42
East 49.84 33.76 8.73 2,189 14.00
Other votes 44.81 35.40 11.80 3,881

Labor primary votes in West Swan at the 2008 WA state election.

Liberal primary votes in West Swan at the 2008 WA state election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room. If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.