Lindsay – Election 2010

ALP 6.3%

Incumbent MP
David Bradbury, since 2007.

Western Sydney. Lindsay covers most of the City of Penrith, stretching from Londonderry in the north to Mulgoa in the south.

Lindsay did not lose any of its 2007 territory in the recent redistribution, while it gained territory from Greenway around Londonderry, where Lindsay’s border moved north to align with the boundary of the City of Penrith. This cut the ALP’s margin from 6.8% to 6.3%.

Lindsay was first created as part of the 1984 expansion of the House of Representatives, and has always been held by the party of government, making it one of the longest-standing bellwether seats.

The seat was first won by the ALP’s Ross Free in 1984. Free had previously held the seat of Macquarie since 1980. Free served as a minister from 1991 until his defeat in 1996 by the Liberal Party’s Jackie Kelly.

Kelly won the seat with a swing of almost 12%, destroying Free’s margin of over 10% after the 1993 election. Kelly was disqualified from sitting in Parliament six months after winning her seat due to her RAAF employment and failure to renounce her New Zealand citizenship, and Lindsay went to a by-election seven months after the 1996 federal election, where Free suffered another swing of almost 5%.

Kelly served as a junior minister in the second Howard government and as John Howard’s Parliamentary Secretary during his third term. Kelly announced her retirement at the 2007 election, and the Liberal Party preselected Karen Chijoff, while the ALP preselected David Bradbury, a former Mayor of Penrith who had run against Kelly in 2001 and 2004.

Three days before the 2007 election, a ramshackle attempt by the Liberal Party to paint the ALP as sympathetic to terrorists was exposed in Lindsay, when ALP operatives caught Liberals red-handed distributing leaflets supposedly from an Islamic group praising the ALP for showing forgiveness to the Bali Bombers. The husbands of both the sitting member and the Liberal candidate were amongst those caught up in the scandal. The scandal dominated the final days of the campaign, and Bradbury defeated Chijoff comfortably, with a 9.7% swing.


  • David Bradbury (Labor) – Member for Lindsay since 2007.
  • Geoff Brown (Independent)
  • Andrew Green (Christian Democratic Party)
  • Mick Saunders (Australia First)
  • John Phillips (Family First)
  • Suzie Wright (Greens)
  • Fiona Scott (Liberal)

Political situation
The ALP holds this seat with a solid margin and as long as the ALP keeps up its national position it seems unlikely that they will lose Lindsay, although the 6.3% margin seems larger than should be expected for such a swinging seat.

2007 result

David BradburyALP41,99151.39+11.68
Karen ChijoffLIB31,17638.15-7.49
Lesley EdwardsGRN2,7593.38-0.38
Andrew GreenCDP2,4983.06+0.31
Lisa HarroldIND9531.17+1.17
Iris MullerFF9151.12-0.32
Kerry McNullyIND7280.89+0.89
Grant BayleyLDP6890.84+0.84

2007 two-candidate-preferred result

David BradburyALP46,39456.78+9.70
Karen ChijoffLIB35,31543.22-9.70

Results do not take into account effects of the redistribution.

Booth breakdown
Lindsay all lies in the City of Penrith, so I have divided booths based on geographical features, with Emu Plains west of the Nepean river and St Marys east of South Creek. I have divided Cambridge Park and Penrith along the railway line, while North and South areas are those covering sparsely populated areas.

The ALP won all areas, performing most strongly in the most urbanised area in the centre, while winning slim margins in the north and south of the seat in Emu Plains.

Polling booths in Lindsay. North in yellow, St Marys in green, Cambridge Park in red, Penrith in purple, South in orange, Emu Plains in blue.

Voter groupGRN %ALP 2CP %Total votes% of ordinary votes
Cambridge Park3.4161.8712,37917.41
St Marys3.0764.5111,36815.98
Emu Plains3.8950.257,70610.84
Other votes4.1754.2813,119

Polling booths in Lindsay, showing results of the 2007 election.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.