Mount Waverley – Victoria 2018

LIB 4.6%

Incumbent MP
Michael Gidley, since 2010.

Eastern Melbourne. The electorate covers most of Mount Waverley and Glen Waverley. The entire electorate lies in the northern part of the City of Monash.

Mount Waverley was created prior to the 2002 election. Based on 1999 election results, Mount Waverley had a notional Liberal margin of 9.1%.

At the 2002 election, the seat was won by the ALP’s Maxine Morand with a 2.3% margin. In 2006 her margin was cut to 0.3%.

At the 2010 election, Morand was defeated by Liberal candidate Michael Gidley. Gidley was re-elected in 2014.


Mount Waverley is a marginal Liberal seat.

2014 result

Michael Gidley Liberal 18,35751.2-1.4
Jennifer Yang Labor 13,18436.7+3.3
Perky Raj Khangure Greens 3,4329.6+2.0
Stephen Chong ZhengAustralian Christians9152.5+2.5

2014 two-party-preferred result

Michael Gidley Liberal 19,48954.6-4.0
Jennifer Yang Labor 16,21145.4+4.0

Booth breakdown

Booths in Mount Waverley have been divided into three parts: East, South and West.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 51.3% in the west to 54.4% in the east.

Voter groupLIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes53.16,17917.2

Two-party-preferred votes in Mount Waverley at the 2014 Victorian state election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.