Bayswater – Victoria 2018

LIB 4.6%

Incumbent MP
Heidi Victoria, since 2006.

Eastern suburbs of Melbourne. Bayswater covers the suburbs of Bayswater, Heathmont, Kilsyth South and The Basin, and parts of Bayswater North, Boronia and Wantirna. Bayswater covers northern parts of the City of Knox and southern parts of the City of Maroondah.

Bayswater was created in 1992, replacing the former seat of Ringwood. It was considered to be a notional Labor seat that year, but was won by the Liberal Party’s Gordon Ashley.

Ashley held the seat until 2002, when he was defeated by the ALP’s Peter Lockwood.

In 2006, the Liberal Party initially preselected Ashley to run against Lockwood again, but the preselection was overturned and he was replaced by Heidi Victoria. Ashley ran as an independent, and Victoria won the seat.

Heidi Victoria was re-elected in 2010 and 2016.


Bayswater is a marginal Liberal seat.

2014 result

Heidi Victoria Liberal 18,81149.3-0.9
Tony Dib Labor 12,92733.9+1.0
James Tennant Greens 3,3558.8-0.1
Robert SmythAnimal Justice1,3133.4+3.4
Tristan ConwayAustralian Christians7852.1+2.1
Jeremy CassCountry Alliance5831.5+1.0
John CarbonariIndependent3851.0+1.0

2014 two-party-preferred result

Heidi Victoria Liberal 20,85454.6-2.1
Tony Dib Labor 17,32345.4+2.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Bayswater have been divided into three parts: central, east and west.

The Liberal Party polled a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 52.1% in the east to 56.1% in the west.

Voter groupLIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes56.36,28716.5

Two-party-preferred votes in Bayswater at the 2014 Victorian state election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.