Gregory – QLD 2017

LNP 11.6%

Incumbent MP
Lachlan Millar, since 2015.

Western Queensland. Gregory covers a large amount of the Queensland outback, covering a small part of the Queensland-South Australia border. Gregory covers the local government areas of Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Central Highlands, Longreach, Boulia, Diamantina and Winton and Woorabinda. The seat covers the towns of Blackwater, Emerald, Barcaldine, Longreach, Clermont, Aramac, Rolleston, Bedourie, Winton and Blackall.

Gregory lost the Quilpie council area to Warrego and the remainder of the Isaac council area to Burdekin, and also gained the Boulia, Diamantina and Winton council areas from Mount Isa. These changes increased the LNP margin from 11.1% to 11.6%.

The seat of Gregory has existed continuously since 1878. The seat has been held by the Country/National/Liberal National party since 1957.

Wally Rae held the seat for the Country Party from 1957 to 1974. Bill Glasson of the National Party then held the seat from 1974 to 1989.

Vaughan Johnson won the seat for the National Party in 1989. He held the seat until 2015, when he was succeeded by LNP candidate Lachlan Millar.


On paper, Gregory is a safe LNP seat. The area is a good area for One Nation, who could potentially threaten the LNP’s hold on the seat.

2015 election result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing Redist
Lachlan Millar Liberal National 10,987 46.4 -12.7 45.9
Cheryl Thompson Labor 6,249 26.4 +8.9 26.2
Ross Stockham Katter’s Australian Party 2,388 10.1 -6.9 11.5
Michael Linton-Helliar Palmer United Party 2,236 9.4 +9.4 8.9
Bruce Currie Independent 1,370 5.8 +2.1 5.5
Norm Weston Greens 457 1.9 -0.8 1.9
One Nation 0.1
Informal 432 1.8

2015 two-party-preferred result

Candidate Party Votes % Swing Redist
Lachlan Millar Liberal National 12,342 61.1 -14.4 61.6
Cheryl Thompson Labor 7,866 38.9 +14.4 38.4
Exhausted 3,479 14.7

Booth breakdown

Booths in Gregory have been divided into three areas: central, east and west.

The LNP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two out of three areas, with 54% in the west and 62.5% in the centre. Labor polled 58.6% in the east.

Katter’s Australian Party came third, with a vote ranging from 8.5% in the east to 16.8% in the west.

Voter group KAP prim % LNP 2PP % Total votes % of votes
Central 11.3 62.5 6,063 26.9
West 16.8 54.2 3,801 16.9
East 8.5 41.4 2,055 9.1
Other votes 10.3 64.4 10,634 47.2

Election results in Gregory at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Katter’s Australian Party primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room. If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.