Strathfield – NSW 2019

ALP 1.8%

Incumbent MP
Jodi McKay, since 2015. Previously member for Newcastle 2007-2011.

Inner West Sydney. Strathfield covers parts of Ashfield, Burwood, Canada Bay, Canterbury and Strathfield local government areas, specifically the suburbs of Croydon, Burwood, Enfield, Homebush and Strathfield.

The electoral district of Strathfield has existed since 1988. The seat was held until 1999 by the Liberal Party, and by Labor from 1999 to 2011, when the Liberal Party won it back.

It was first won in 1988 by Paul Zammit. He had won the seat of Burwood in 1984, holding it for one term before it was abolished. Burwood had been held by conservative candidates for close to a century before the ALP won it in 1978.

Zammit served as a junior minister in the Coalition state government from 1991 to 1995. In 1996, he resigned from Strathfield and won the federal seat of Lowe. He only held it for one term, as he resigned from the Liberal Party in 1998 in protest over aircraft noise. He ran as an independent in Lowe at the 1998 federal election, losing to the ALP’s John Murphy.

The 1996 Strathfield by-election was won by the Liberal Party’s Bruce McCarthy.

Prior to the 1999 election, Strathfield was redrawn to take in parts of the abolished Labor seat of Ashfield, cutting back McCarthy’s margin.

At the 1999 election, McCarthy lost to the ALP’s Paul Whelan, the sitting Member for Ashfield. Whelan had held Ashfield since the 1976 election. He had served as a minister in the Wran Labor government from 1981 to 1984. He served as Minister for Police from 1995 to 2001, and as Leader of the House until 2003, when he retired.

Whelan was succeeded by Strathfield mayor Virginia Judge in 2003. She was re-elected in 2007, and served as a minister in the Labor government from 2008 to 2011.

In 2011, Judge lost to Liberal candidate Charles Casuscelli.

Casuscelli held Strathfield for one term, losing in 2015 to Labor candidate Jodi McKay. McKay had previously represented Newcastle from 2007 until 2011, and had served as a minister from 2008 until 2011. She went straight back to the frontbench after returning to parliament in 2015.


Strathfield is very marginal but Labor would be likely to hold on.

2015 result

Charles Casuscelli Liberal 19,88442.7-5.1
Jodi Mckay Labor 19,72142.4+7.4
Lance Dale Greens 4,2929.2-1.9
David BrookChristian Democrats1,5733.40.0
Stephen ChehabNo Land Tax1,0922.3+2.3

2015 two-party-preferred result

Jodi Mckay Labor 22,37151.8+8.2
Charles Casuscelli Liberal 20,82948.2-8.2

Booth breakdown

Booths in Strathfield have been split into three parts: east, south and west.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two out of three areas, polling 53.6% in the south and 55.4% in the east. The Liberal Party polled 53.1% in the west.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes52.211,00423.6

Two-party-preferred votes in Strathfield at the 2015 NSW state election

Become a Patron!


  1. The heart of Strathfield is old money; leafy streets and large houses. Note that the seat has traditionally been Liberal (known as Burwood prior to 1988.) This is the first time Labor has held the seat in opposition.

  2. strathfield is liberal mostly in the central & northern parts because of voters who are affluent, good housing & those who have social conservative views like the korean christians who aren’t catholic.

  3. I like how the Christian Democrats “Swing” column just reads “FALSE”. Very true! No fun, those guys.

    Parts of Strathfield the suburb are going for Mosman prices these days, too.

  4. Liberal are very good for nation they always think country first rest Strathfield is all educated and professional live there thought are different top schools are here very liberal.? not green / labour policy just social banifit party


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here