Newtown – NSW 2019

GRN 9.3% vs ALP

Incumbent MP
Jenny Leong, since 2015.

Newtown covers parts of the City of Sydney and Marrickville council, stretching from Surry Hills and Redfern in the east to Lewisham in the west. Newtown covers Camperdown, Chippendale, Darlington, Enmore, Newtown, Redfern, Stanmore and parts of Erskineville, Lewisham, Marrickville, Petersham and Surry Hills.


The seat of Newtown was a new seat created in 2015 primarily out of eastern parts of Marrickville. The seat of Marrickville had been continuously held by Labor since 1910, but had become a Labor-Greens marginal in the last twenty years.

In 1995, the Liberal Party was pushed into third place behind the No Aircraft Noise party in Marrickville, who polled over 23% of the primary vote. The Greens came second after preferences in 1999, and the Liberals never again came in the top two in Marrickville.

When Premier Bob Carr announced his retirement in 2005, Labor MP Andrew Refshauge also announced his retirement.

The ALP ran Carmel Tebbutt, a former Marrickville councillor who had been a Member of the Legislative Council since 1998 and a minister since 1999. The Greens ran Deputy Mayor of Marrickville, Sam Byrne. The ALP’s 10.7% margin was cut to 5.1% in the by-election.

Tebbutt was re-elected in 2007, winning with a 7.5% margin over the Greens, less than in the 2003 election, but more than in the 2005 by-election. Tebbutt served as Labor deputy leader and Deputy Premier from 2008 to 2011.

At the 2011 election, Tebbutt again faced strong opposition from the Greens. Her margin was cut to 0.9%.

The 2015 redistribution created a notional Greens seat. Greens candidate Jenny Leong defeated Labor candidate Penny Sharpe, who had been a member of the Legislative Council since 2005, and returned to the upper house following the election.


Newtown is probably the safest Greens seat in Australia. It is likely that the Greens will retain this seat, regardless of the candidate, although Labor may still be a contender here in the long run.

2015 result

Jenny Leong Greens 20,68945.6+10.1
Penny Sharpe Labor 13,97830.8+0.4
Rachael Wheldall Liberal 8,07417.8-3.2
Michael WalshAnimal Justice9892.2+2.2
Noel McfarlaneCyclists8281.8+1.8
Karl SchubertChristian Democrats4531.0-0.1
Dale DinhamNo Land Tax3860.9+0.9

2015 two-candidate-preferred result

Jenny Leong Greens 22,60559.3+4.8
Penny Sharpe Labor 15,53240.7-4.8

2015 two-party-preferred result

Penny Sharpe Labor 27,52674.4+10.4
Rachael Wheldall Liberal 9,46125.6-10.4

Booth breakdown

Booths in Newtown have been split into three parts:

  • Central – Newtown, Camperdown, Chippendale, Darlington and Erskineville
  • East – Redfern and Surry Hills
  • West – Enmore, Petersham and Stanmore

The Greens won a majority of the two-candidate-preferred vote (against Labor) in all three areas, ranging from 54.2% in the east to 64.7% in the centre.

The Liberal primary vote ranged from 14.5% in the centre to 20.9% in the east.

Voter groupLIB prim %GRN 2CP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes20.058.812,51627.6

Election results in Newtown at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-candidate-preferred votes (Greens vs Labor) and Liberal primary votes.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here