Kiama – NSW 2019

LIB 8.7%

Incumbent MP
Gareth Ward, since 2011.

South coast. Kiama covers Kiama local government areas and parts of the neighbouring Shellharbour and Shoalhaven council areas, along with a small peripheral part of the City of Wollongong. The seat stretches from Albion Park in the north to Bomaderry in the south.

The current incarnation of the electoral district of Kiama has existed since 1981, and has always been won by the ALP. There was a previous single-member district of Kiama from 1859 to 1904.

Kiama was created at the 1981 election. Throughout the 1970s Kiama had been part of the district of Wollondilly. The first member for Kiama was the ALP’s Bill Knott. Knott had been elected Member for Wollondilly in 1978. He moved to Kiama in 1981 and was re-elected in 1984. He retired on medical grounds in 1986.

The 1986 by-election was won by the Labor candidate, Shellharbour mayor Bob Harrison. He won re-election in 1991 and 1995, retiring in 1999.

Kiama was won in 1999 by the ALP’s Matt Brown. Brown was appointed a minister following the 2007 election. In September 2008, he was appointed Minister for Police in the first cabinet under new Premier Nathan Rees. Three days later he was forced to resign after revelations of his conduct at a party in his office. He returned to the backbench after his resignation.

At the 2011 election, Brown lost Kiama to Liberal candidate Gareth Ward with a 19.4% swing. Ward was re-elected in 2015.


Kiama is not the most marginal Liberal seat, but could come into play if Labor is doing well.

2015 result

Gareth Ward Liberal 24,61851.6+8.0
Glenn Kolomeitz Labor 15,28832.1+4.4
Terry Barratt Greens 5,27111.1+2.2
Steve RyanChristian Democrats1,5053.2-0.7
Carmel PellegriniNo Land Tax1,0162.1+2.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Gareth Ward Liberal 26,11458.7+0.1
Glenn Kolomeitz Labor 18,40441.3-0.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Kiama have been split into three parts according to local government boundaries: Albion Park (covering Shellharbour council area booths), Kiama and Shoalhaven.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in Kiama (60.4%) and Shoalhaven (63.2%). Labor polled 54.1% in Albion Park.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 7.6% in Albion Park to 14% in Kiama.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Albion Park7.645.97,22615.1
Other votes13.660.68,56918.0

Two-party-preferred votes in Kiama at the 2015 NSW state election

Become a Patron!


  1. if you say that, then say that about all the other good local member, They dont vote on good local members, its usually the government at fault

  2. I was read online last week that a councillor on Kiama Council has been charged in Qld for using the drug Ice. This councillors was a former ALP MP too.

  3. Matt Brown (ALP) and a former NSW police minister has been charged in Queensland with using the psychotropic illegal drug Ice.

  4. Gareth Ward has a solid personal vote in this electorate, much the same way as Mark Coure in Oatley.

    This should be a Liberal Retain

  5. Suspect, Not hope, im over this with some of you Liberal’s (actually your not liberal’s your Trump conservatives) Trickle down economics, never work’s nor does reducing taxes, Been proven by economist’s We need to start moving to Centre-Left politic’s It will do this world good, I am tired of paying politician’s expenses, Electricity has not gone down in price, They all lie. They are just trying to get our vote’s, Gareth Ward defends this 100% because any politician will say ANYTHING and defend their party to get elected

  6. Ok Daniel – thanks for the considered and reasoned response. PS – My politics couldn’t be further adrift from Donald Trump.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here