Heffron – NSW 2019

ALP 14.1%

Incumbent MP
Ron Hoenig, since 2012.

Inner south of Sydney. Heffron covers southern parts of the City of Sydney, as well as northern parts of the Bayside Council. Heffron also covers those parts of the Inner West Council to the east of the Illawarra railway line, and small parts of Randwick Council. Key suburbs include Redfern, Waterloo, Eveleigh, Alexandria, Zetland, Beaconsfield, Kensington, Kingsford, Rosebery, Eastlakes, Mascot, St Peters and Tempe. Heffron also covers Moore Park and Centennial Park.

The district of Heffron has existed since 1973. It has always been held by the ALP.

The seat was first won in 1973 by Laurie Brereton. He had previously held the seat of Randwick for one year. He won it in a 1970 by-election following the election of the previous member Lionel Bowen to the federal seat of Kingsford Smith in 1969. Randwick was abolished at the 1971 election.

Brereton served as a minister in the Labor state government from 1981 to 1987, and held Heffron until 1990, when he resigned to contest Kingsford Smith. He served as a minister in the Labor federal government from 1993 to 1996 and a shadow minister from 1996 to 2001. He retired from Kingsford Smith in 2004.

Brereton was replaced at the 1990 Heffron by-election by his sister Deirdre Grusovin, who had been a member of the Legislative Council since 1978. She had served as a minister from 1986 to 1988.

Grusovin held Heffron at the 1991, 1995 and 1999 elections. In 2003 she lost a bitter preselection contest against Kristina Keneally.

Keneally won a second term in Heffron in 2007. Following the 2007 election she was appointed as a minister. In 2009, the ALP caucus elected her as Labor leader, and she succeeded Nathan Rees as Premier of NSW.

Keneally led the ALP into the 2011 state election, where the party was reduced to only 20 seats, after holding over 50 prior to the election.

In June 2012, Keneally resigned from Parliament. The ensuing by-election was won by Labor candidate Ron Hoenig, the mayor of Botany Bay. Hoenig was re-elected in 2015.


  • Ron Hoenig (Labor)

While the Greens have strong support in northern parts of this electorate, this support is much weaker at the southern end. Unless something dramatic changes in this seat, the Greens will struggle to compete with Labor, while the Liberal Party is not a factor as long as Greens preferences favour Labor.

2015 result

Ron Hoenig Labor 20,53944.3+4.4
John Koutsoukis Liberal 13,77529.7-5.1
Osman Faruqi Greens 9,78821.1+3.5
Anastasia BakssNo Land Tax1,3923.0+3.0
Shawn ArbeauChristian Democrats8731.9FALSE

2015 two-party-preferred result

Ron Hoenig Labor 26,52964.1+8.9
John Koutsoukis Liberal 14,86035.9-8.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Heffron have been divided between the four local councils which cover parts of the electorate.

The Labor two-party-preferred vote (against the Liberal Party) ranged from a slim 53% majority in Randwick to almost 80% in the Inner West Council area.

There was also a massive range in support for the Greens, from only 8% in the Bayside council areas to over 35% in the Inner West council area.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Inner West35.379.53,3087.1
Other votes23.459.112,40726.8

Election results in Heffron at the 2015 NSW state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.