Solomon – Australia 2019

ALP 6.1%

Incumbent MP
Luke Gosling, since 2016.

Solomon covers the Darwin metropolitan area, as well as the nearby city of Palmerston.

Solomon retracted slightly, losing an area at the eastern edge of Darwin to Lingiari. This change increased the ALP margin from 6% to 6.1%.

The Northern Territory first elected a Member of the House of Representatives in 1922, but this person was only given full voting rights in 1968.

The seat was held by the Country Party and then the Country Liberal Party from then until 1983

Labor and then the CLP each held the seat for one term from 1983 to 1987, before Warren Snowdon won the seat for the ALP in 1987.

Snowdon lost the seat for one term in 1996 before being returned for one more term in 1998.

The 2000 redistribution saw the Northern Territory gain a second seat for the first time, and the seats of Solomon, covering Darwin and Palmerston, and Lingiari, covering the rest of the territory, were created.

In 2001, Country Liberal candidate Dave Tollner won the seat by only 88 votes. In 2004, he increased his margin to 2.8%. The 2007 election saw Tollner lose his seat to the ALP’s Damian Hale, by a slim 0.3% margin.

In 2010, Hale lost his seat to Palmerston alderman Natasha Griggs, running for the Country Liberal Party. In 2013, Griggs won a second term, despite a 0.35% swing back to Labor.

Griggs lost in 2016 to Labor candidate Luke Gosling.

No information.

Solomon is still reasonably marginal and could return to the CLP if there was a large swing to the Coalition.

2016 result

Luke Gosling Labor 22,30840.9+5.440.9
Natasha GriggsCountry Liberal18,80434.4-10.234.4
Todd Williams Greens 5,55310.2+2.210.3
Mark GarnerIndependent1,6443.0+3.03.0
Marty ReinholdShooters, Fishers and Farmers1,5232.8+2.82.7
Robert DawesLiberal Democrats1,2752.3+2.32.3
Lance LawrenceMarijuana (HEMP) Party1,1432.1+2.12.1
Silvija MajeticRise Up Australia9851.8+0.81.8
John KearneyAustralia First7981.5+1.51.4
Nevin CartwrightOnline Direct Democracy3690.7+0.70.7
Brigid McculloughCitizens Electoral Council1830.3-0.10.3

2016 two-party-preferred result

Luke Gosling Labor 30,56656.0+7.456.2
Natasha Griggs Country Liberal 24,01944.0-7.444.0

Booth breakdown

Booths have been divided into three clear parts. The town of Palmerston stands apart from the City of Darwin. Within Darwin, there is a clear divide between the south and the north of Darwin.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 51.2% in South Darwin to 62.1% in North Darwin.

The Greens came third, with a primary vote ranging from 6.9% in Palmerston to 11.4% in North Darwin.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
North Darwin11.462.116,80032.2
South Darwin11.051.28,22115.7
Other votes11.250.04,5398.7

Election results in Solomon at the 2016 federal election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.