Shortland – Australia 2019

ALP 9.9%

Incumbent MP
Pat Conroy, since 2016. Previously member for Charlton 2013-2016.

Lake Macquarie and Central Coast regions of New South Wales. Shortland covers the suburbs of Lake Macquarie council on the eastern shore of Lake Macquarie, as well as northeastern suburbs of Wyong LGA. Key suburbs include Belmont, Charlestown, Cardiff, Warners Bay, Gateshead, Swansea, Budgewoi and Lake Munmorah.

Shortland was created in 1949, and has always been a safe Labor seat, with the ALP polling over 60% at every election except for six elections when the Liberal Party polled very well nationally (1966, 1975, 1977, 1996, 2001, 2004).

The seat was first won in 1949 by the ALP’s Charles Griffiths, an official for the Australian Railways Union. Griffiths held the seat for the entirety of the 1950s and 1960s, and retired in 1972. He was replaced in 1972 by Peter Morris. Morris served as a junior minister from the election of the Hawke government in 1983 until he was promoted to Cabinet in 1988. He was dropped from Cabinet in 1990 due to lack of factional support and retired in 1998.

The seat was won in 1998 by Jill Hall, who had been elected to the state seat of Swansea in 1995. Hall held the seat for six terms.

The redistribution leading up to the 2016 election abolished the neighbouring seat of Charlton. Pat Conroy, who had held the seat of Charlton since 2013, replaced Jill Hall in Shortland.


  • Pat Conroy (Labor)
  • Dani Rifai (United Australia)
  • Assessment
    Shortland is a reasonably safe Labor seat.

    2016 result

    Pat Conroy Labor 50,16451.2+3.0
    Jenny Barrie Liberal 34,51435.2-1.3
    Ivan Macfadyen Greens 9,2799.5+3.1
    Morgan CoxChristian Democratic Party4,0814.2+2.6

    2016 two-party-preferred result

    Pat Conroy Labor 58,76159.9+2.5
    Jenny Barrie Liberal 39,27740.1-2.5

    Booth breakdown

    Booths have been divided into five areas: Cardiff-Warners Bay in the north-west, Charlestown in the north-east, and then from north to south Belmont, Swansea and Wyong. The “Wyong” area covers those polling places in Wyong Shire, with the remaining polling places in the City of Lake Macquarie.

    The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in every area, ranging from 57.3% in Belmont to 62.9% in Charlestown.

    Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
    Cardiff-Warners Bay58.415,62715.9
    Other votes60.510,69510.9

    Two-party-preferred votes in Shortland at the 2016 federal election

    Become a Patron!


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here