Fraser – Australia 2019

ALP 19.8%

Incumbent MP
Fraser is a new seat with no sitting MP.

Western Melbourne. Fraser covers most of the Brimbank council area, as well as a small part of the Maribyrnong council area. The seat covers the suburbs of Ardeer, Braybrook, Calder Park, Kealba, Keilor, Kings Park, St Albans, Sunshine, Sydenham, Taylors Lakes and Tottenham.

Fraser is a new seat, taking in parts of Maribyrnong, Calwell, Gellibrand and Gorton. Maribyrnong and Calwell contributed about one third of the seat’s population each.

Fraser is a new seat, primarily made out of parts of Calwell and Maribyrnong. These two seats, as well as the other seats which contributed to Fraser, have been held by Labor for many decades. Maribyrnong has been held by Labor since 1969, and Calwell has been won by Labor at every election since its creation in 1984.

Labor MP Maria Vamvakinou has held Calwell since 2001. Bill Shorten has held Maribyrnong since 2007.


Fraser is a very safe Labor seat.

2016 result

Animal Justice 1.8
Labor 58.5
Australian Christians 0.7
Greens 9.8

2016 two-party-preferred result

Labor 69.8
Liberal 30.2

Booth breakdown

Polling places in Fraser have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

Labor won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 64.2% in the north to 77.4% in the centre.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes64.613,74615.4

Two-party-preferred votes in Fraser at the 2016 federal election

Become a Patron!

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.