Warrandyte – Victoria 2018

LIB 11.6%

Incumbent MP
Ryan Smith, since 2006.

Eastern Melbourne. Warrandyte covers the suburbs of Parkwood, Warrandyte, North Warrandyte, Warrandyte South,Warranwood, Wonga Park and parts of Donvale and Doncaster East. The electorate mostly covers eastern parts of the City of Manningham, as well as the suburb of North Warrandyte on the northern side of the Yarra River in Nillumbik Shire, and small parts of Maroondah and Yarra Ranges council areas.

Warrandyte was created for the 1976 election. It has been won by the Liberal Party at all elections except for two elections in the 1980s when the seat was won by the Labor Party.

Warrandyte was first won in 1976 by the Liberal Party’s Norman Lacy, who had previously won the seat of Ringwood in 1973. He held the seat for two terms, losing in 1982.

The ALP’s Lou Hill won Warrandyte in 1982, and was re-elected in 1985. In 1988 he was defeated by the Liberal Party’s Phil Honeywood.

Honeywood became a Parliamentary Secretary when the Kennett government was elected in 1992, and became a minister when the government was re-elected in 1996. He served as an Opposition frontbencher from 1999 until his retirement in 2006.

Warrandyte was won in 2006 by the Liberal Party’s Ryan Smith.

Smith was re-elected in 2010 and 2014.


Warrandyte is a safe Liberal seat.

2014 result

Ryan Smith Liberal 21,98256.9-5.4
Steven Kent Labor 11,28929.2+4.7
Richard Cranston Greens 4,03210.4+0.7
David LeachAustralian Christians8872.3+2.3
Keith LyonCountry Alliance4461.2+1.1

2014 two-party-preferred result

Ryan Smith Liberal 23,80461.6-5.6
Steven Kent Labor 14,84038.4+5.6

Booth breakdown

Booths in Warrandyte have been divided into four areas: east, north, south-west and west.

The Liberal Party won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all four areas, ranging from 56.5% in the south-west to 67.2% in the east.

The Greens primary vote ranged from 7.8% in the south-west to 17.3% in the north.

Voter groupGRN prim %LIB 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.762.08,73822.6

Election results in Warrandyte at the 2014 Victorian state election
Toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

Become a Patron!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here