Stretton – QLD 2017

ALP 5.3%

Incumbent MP
Duncan Pegg, since 2015.

Southern Brisbane. Stretton covers the suburbs of Kuraby, Calamvale, Drewvale, Stretton and parts of Runcorn and Sunnybank Hills, at the southern end of the City of Brisbane.

Stretton’s western boundary was aligned with Beaudesert Road. This involved Stretton gaining territory from Sunnybank and losing territory to Algester. These changes increased the Labor margin from 5% to 5.3%.


Stretton was created in 2001, replacing the seat of Sunnybank which had existed since 1992.

Labor’s Stephen Robertson held the seat of Sunnybank and then Stretton continuously from 1992 to 2012. He served as a minister in the Beattie/Bligh government from 1998 to 2012.

In 2012, Robertson retired, and Stretton was won by LNP candidate Freya Ostapovitch with a 19% swing.

Ostapovitch lost to Labor’s Duncan Pegg in 2015.


Stretton is a marginal Labor seat, but is only likely to change hands if the LNP wins a comfortable victory.

2015 election result

Duncan Pegg Labor 11,87641.4+12.742.8
Freya Ostapovitch Liberal National 10,88437.9-8.937.9
David FordeIndependent4,43115.4-3.512.9
Brian Sadler Greens 1,5025.2-0.36.3

2015 two-party-preferred result

Duncan Pegg Labor 14,38655.0+14.555.3
Freya Ostapovitch Liberal National 11,77845.0-14.544.7

Booth breakdown

Booths in Stretton have been divided into two areas: north and south.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in both areas: 60% in the south and 55% in the north.

The independent vote was over 18% in the south, and 6% in the north.

Voter groupIND prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes11.752.310,88142.8

Election results in Stretton at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and independent primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.