Sandgate – QLD 2017

ALP 10.1%

Incumbent MP
Stirling Hinchliffe, since 2015.

Northern edge of the City of Brisbane. Sandgate covers the Brisbane suburbs of Bracken Ridge, Deagon, Shorncliffe, Sandgate, Brighton, Taigum, Fitzgibbon and parts of Bald Hills.

Sandgate expanded slightly west, taking in a larger part of Bald Hills from Aspley. This change did not affect the seat’s margin.

The seat of Sandgate has existed since 1923, and has been won by Labor at all but one election since 1960.

Harold Dean won the seat off the Liberal Party in 1960. He held the seat until his retirement in 1977.

Nev Warburton won the seat in 1977. He became Leader of the ALP in 1984, and led the party into the 1986 election. He continued as leader until 1988, when he was replaced by Wayne Goss.

When the ALP won power in 1989, and Warburton served as a minister until he retired in 1992.

Gordon Nuttall won the seat in 1992. He became a minister in the Beattie government in 2001 and served in the ministry until 2005. In 2005, he was investigated for giving a false answer to a Parliamentary committee. He retired in 2006, and resigned from the party shortly before the election, facing the prospect of expulsion.

Nuttall was later convicted of numerous corruption charges in 2009 and 2010, and is serving a seven-year prison sentence.

Vicky Darling held Sandgate for two terms from 2006 to 2012, and served as a minister from 2011 to 2012.

In 2012, Darling was defeated by LNP candidate Kerry Millard. Millard held the seat for one term, losing in 2015 to Labor’s Stirling Hinchliffe.


Sandgate is a safe Labor seat.

2015 election result

Stirling Hinchliffe Labor 14,80249.7+12.149.5
Kerry Millard Liberal National 10,96736.9-6.937.1
John Harbison Greens 3,03310.2+1.210.3
Hamish GrayIndependent9593.2+1.63.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Stirling Hinchliffe Labor 17,26260.1+13.060.1
Kerry Millard Liberal National 11,46239.9-13.039.9

Booth breakdown

Booths in Sandgate have been divided into three areas: north-east, south-east and west. The west makes up a majority of the seat’s population.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, ranging from 60% in the west to 62% in the north-east.

The Greens came third, with a vote ranging from 8.9% in the west to 14.3% in the south-east.

Voter groupGRN prim %ALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes9.558.210,95635.5

Election results in Sandgate at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes and Greens primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.