Pumicestone – QLD 2017

LNP 0.1%

Incumbent MP
Rick Williams, since 2015.

South-East Queensland. Pumicestone covers parts of Moreton Bay LGA stretching from Bribie Island to Moodlu.

Pumicestone gained the remainder of Bribie Island from Caloundra, lost Caboolture to Morayfield and gained a small area to the north of Caboolture from Glass House. The best estimate suggests that the seat has flipped from a Labor margin of 2.1% to an LNP margin of 0.1%, although other models suggest the seat is still notional Labor.

The seat of Pumicestone has existed since 2001. The seat was won in 2001 by Carryn Sullivan, who was re-elected in 2004, 2006 and 2009.

In 2012, Sullivan was defeated by LNP candidate Lisa France. France lost to Labor’s Rick Williams in 2015.


Pumicestone is the most marginal seat in the state, and will be a vital seat in terms of building a majority.

2015 election result

Lisa France Liberal National 13,97542.1-11.045.1
Rick Williams Labor 13,58941.0+10.538.5
Blair VerrierPalmer United Party2,4517.4+7.47.1
Daniel O’Connell Greens 1,8245.5-0.65.6
Bevan CollingwoodIndependent9012.7+2.72.5
Denis JohnsonIndependent4311.3+1.31.2

2015 two-party-preferred result

Rick Williams Labor 16,16652.1+14.249.9
Lisa France Liberal National 14,87447.9-14.250.1

Booth breakdown

Booths in Pumicestone have been divided into three areas: central, west and Bribie Island.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in two out of three areas, polling 50.8% in the centre and 55.3% in the west. The LNP won 52.5% on Bribie Island.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Bribie Island47.59,19533.5
Other votes50.19,17033.4

Two-party-preferred in Pumicestone at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.