Gympie – QLD 2017

LNP 7.6%

Incumbent MP
Tony Perrett, since 2015.

Central Queensland. Gympie covers the Gympie urban area, other eastern parts of Gympie LGA and some northwestern parts of the Noosa council area. Apart from Gympie itself, the seat’s major centres are Tin Can Bay, Rainbow Beach, Cooran and Pomona.

Gympie shifted north-west, losing the remaining parts of the Noosa council area to the seat of Noosa, including Pomona, Kin Kin and Cooran. Gympie’s northern and western boundaries expanded to take in parts of Maryborough and Callide, including Gunalda, Widgee, Bells Bridge, Sexton, Lower Wonga and Bauple.

The seat of Gympie was first created in 1873. The seat was abolished in 1950, and restored in 1960. Barring two terms in the early 2000s, the seat has always been won by the Country/National party since its restoration in 1960.

Max Hodges won the seat for the Country Party in 1960. He held the seat until 1979.

Len Stephan won the seat for the National Country Party in 1979. He held the seat until his retirement in 2001.

Upon Stephan’s retirement in 2001, his seat was lost to One Nation’s Elisa Roberts.

Roberts left One Nation in early 2002. She won a second term in 2004, but lost the seat in 2006 to the National Party’s David Gibson. Gibson won a second term in 2009, and a third term in 2012.

Gibson retired in 2015, and was succeeded by the Liberal National Party’s Tony Perrett.


Gympie is a reasonably safe LNP seat on paper, although it is a strong area for One Nation.

2015 election result

Tony Perrett Liberal National 12,36641.3-11.741.2
Stephen Meredith Labor 6,97123.3+11.023.1
Shane PaulgerKatter’s Australian Party4,80416.0-5.814.0
Mitchell FrostPalmer United Party3,38411.3+11.312.3
Shena Macdonald Greens 2,4148.1-0.46.2
One Nation0.8

2015 two-party-preferred result

Tony Perrett Liberal National 13,83357.1-10.257.6
Stephen Meredith Labor 10,39442.9+10.242.4

Booth breakdown

Booths in Gympie have been divided into three areas. Polling places in the Gympie urban area were grouped together, with the remaining booths split into north and south.

The Liberal National primary vote ranged from 38% in Gympie and the north to 45% in the south.

Labor’s primary vote ranged from 17% in the south to 25% in Gympie.

Katter’s Australian Party polled under 12% in the north and over 17% in Gympie and the south.

The Palmer United Party vote was clustered around 12-14% in all three areas.

Voter groupLNP prim %ALP prim %KAP prim %PUP prim %Total votes% of votes
Other votes43.723.112.211.110,86436.3

Election results in Gympie at the 2015 QLD state election
Click on the ‘visible layers’ box to toggle between two-party-preferred votes, Liberal National primary votes, Labor primary votes, Katter’s Australian Party primary votes and Palmer United Party primary votes.

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.