Bancroft – QLD 2017

ALP 8.3%

Incumbent MP
Chris Whiting, member for Murrumba since 2015.

Brisbane. Bancroft covers suburbs on the northern fringe of Brisbane, including Burpengary East, Deception Bay, North Harbour and North Lakes.

Bancroft is a new seat, created out of what previously was northern parts of the seat of Murrumba.

History – Murrumba
The seat of Murrumba has existed continuously since 1912. It was held by the Country/National Party from 1918 to 1977, and has been held by the ALP continuously since 1977.

The seat was held by Frank Nicklin from 1932 to 1950, when he moved to the new seat of Landsborough. He served as Premier of Queensland from 1957 to 1968.

First David Nicholson and then Des Frawley were elected as Country Party MPs in Murrumba. In 1977 Frawley lost to the ALP’s Joe Kruger. Kruger held the seat until his retirement in 1986.

Dean Wells won Murrumba in 1986. He had previously served as federal Member for Petrie for 18 months from 1983 to 1984. Wells served as a minister in two successive Labor state governments: from 1989 to 1995 and from 1998 to 2004. Wells held Murrumba for nine terms from 1986 until 2012.

In 2012, Wells was defeated by LNP candidate Reg Gulley, who won with a 16.7% swing. Gulley lost his seat in 2015 by Labor’s Chris Whiting.


Bancroft will probably remain in Labor hands.

2015 election result

Labor 49.8
Liberal National 37.9
Greens 6.2
Family First6.1

2015 two-party-preferred result

Labor 58.3
Liberal National 41.7

Booth breakdown

Booths in Bancroft have been divided into three areas: central, north and south.

The ALP won a majority of the two-party-preferred vote in all three areas, polling around 53% in the north and south and 68% in the centre.

Voter groupALP 2PP %Total votes% of votes
Other votes55.69,49437.6

Two-party-preferred votes in Bancroft at the 2015 QLD state election

About the Author

Ben Raue is the founder and author of the Tally Room.

If you like this post, please consider donating to support the Tally Room.